A Garden That Wants You to Think

Today’s post was supposed to be set in Vicenza, the city of Palladio.  That’s what I wrote at the end of last week’s post and that’s what I thought I was going to do.  I even did a bit of work on it, but then I got stuck and after a while I put it aside.   Blame it on the blizzard outside my window if you like.  The snow was falling so heavily, at one point I could barely make out the buildings across the street.

IMG_3259 - Version 2

April 6. By late morning the snow had stopped. The forecast for the afternoon was sleet or maybe rain.

When Pablo Neruda said, ‘You can cut all the flowers but you cannot keep Spring from coming’,  he was of course speaking metaphorically and had obviously never experienced the perfidies of a Toronto spring.  However, he did have a point.  Spring will come. Eventually.  But in the meantime, what is a poor garden lover to do?  I’d been to Allan Gardens I don’t know how many times in the last few weeks.  I’ve got three pots of herbs – time, basil and oregano –  sitting by the window, already straining towards the light. My olive tree is covered with blossoms – am I supposed to pollinate them by hand ? And the plumbago I whacked back last fall is sending out long, spindly shoots – and one lovely, powder blue flower.

IMG_3157

In the Temperate Greenhouse at Allan Gardens.

The only thing that’s left, as far as I can see, is to have a look at another garden. If you’ve been reading the posts in order (which many of you, it appears, do not) you’ll know I’ve been on a green binge lately.  With apologies anticipatamente to those of you who were looking forward to a slightly broader palette, apart from a few white roses and a couple of black swans, the garden I have in mind is essentially in the hue of green.  But don’t let that put you off.  It’s astounding what can be done with one colour, water and a lot of Istrian stone.

In 1631 a virulent plague swept across Europe.  Francesco Barbarigo, head of an ancient Venetian noble family, abandoned his palace in Venice and fled to the relative safety of Valsanzibio, one of the family holdings in the hills near Padua.  When the plague was over, rather than returning to Venice, he stayed on to oversee the transformation of the gardens surrounding the villa, his way of fulfilling the pledge he had made to the gods for having spared him and his family.  When it was finished, he invited friends and dignitaries who would arrive by boat from Venice and dock at the Portale di Diana.

IMG_2027

Diana, goddess of the hunt and wild animals of the forest stands guard over the 17 century entrance.

But the marshy lake has long since been drained and it was only as I was driving by – there are no signs of course – that it occurred to me the ornately decorated structure, an incongruous sight, here by the side of the road in the middle of nowhere, was part of the garden I’d come to see.  It’s called the Giardino di Valsanzibio.

IMG_2025

In case you’re wondering, I walked back and stood on the low stone wall on the right side of the road to take the previous photo.

Nowadays a gravelled parking lot replaces the elegant 17th century landing and visitors enter the garden through a decidedly unadorned opening in the stone wall.   Which means that instead of the grand water features that greeted Barbarigo’s guests, our first view of the garden is of the very tall, very dark green, impenetrable walls of a labyrinth.  I wasn’t particularly in the mood for finding my way to the centre – surely the whole point of a labyrinth.  The dull brooding clouds – it had rained on and off during the hour-long drive from Vicenza – may have added to my lack of enthusiasm, but… this is one of those moments when you need to remind yourself that you have crossed the Atlantic, travelled thousands of miles, endured countless hardships – OK, take out the hardships – to get here.  So out came the wretched  rain jacket I had optimistically shoved to the bottom of my backpack after Lake Como and then I started my solitary journey down the dark, lonely path.

IMG_2020

With a kilometre and a half of disorienting paths, this is one of the largest and most complicated labyrinths in the world. And there’s no peaking over the 2 metre high boxwood walls.

A touch melodramatic, but there wasn’t another soul in sight, and I started to feel more than a bit rattled after wandering down the paths for a while without getting any closer to the centre.  Which is exactly the point.  Barbarigo’s garden was meant to represent man’s mortal journey from ignorance and sin to revelation and ultimate salvation.  The labyrinth is the physical embodiment of that tortuous journey, with trabocchetti (trah-bok-ket-tea), blind ‘T’ alleys and dead ends that symbolize the seven deadly sins.  Most importantly, according to an article I read later, was to avoid the allettante strada di pigrizia (alluring path of sloth) which will lead the unwary traveller to a dead end in the north-east quadrant, forcing the errant soul to ponder his sins as he retraces his steps. Technically, this means that in English Barbarigo’s labirinto is not a labyrinth – it’s a maze (more on that when we get to the ‘labyrinth’ at Villa Pisani).

IMG_2017

As you approach the centre the walls are lower and the way becomes clearer.

IMG_2018

But it’s easy to take a wrong path and get lost again.

IMG_2019

Finally, salvation is within reach.

Over 6,000 boxwood sempervivens, some of them 400 years old, line the paths. When the garden was first opened to the public there were a lot of maleducati who pushed their way through the walls and damaged the plants, but after a campaign of public education, visitors are now much more respectful.

IMG_2013

View from the tower.  There was no sun so I couldn’t tell if this was the dreaded north-east quadrant.

IMG_2014

At the base of the tower was an arrow pointing to the entrance/exit. Just to be on the safe side I spent quite a bit of time while I was up there, memorizing the way.

With a sigh of relief I walked out onto the refreshingly wide open Gran Viale, the major north-south axis.  The first fountain marks the intersection with the Viale delle Peschiere (Avenue of the Fish Ponds), the arrival point for Barbarigo’s 17th century visitors.

IMG_1970

At the end of the Grand Avenue, Villa Barbarigo.

IMG_2022

Remarkably, the garden is essentially unchanged from Barbarigo’s era. When his guests stepped through Diana’s Gate, this is what they would have seen.

IMG_2021 - Version 3

Focused on taking that 17th century shot, I hadn’t noticed the black swans.

IMG_2001

From all the squawking they made, it was clear that previous visitors had been feeding them. They reminded me of the peacock – gorgeous looking, but oh my goodness, what a honk. (Does that make them hunks with a honk?)

Continuing up the slope I came to a small, circular pond surrounded by four bare-bottomed cherubs.  It’s called the Fontana dell’Iride.  Presumably, when the sun shines, rainbows appear in the water that spurts from the jugs they are holding.

IMG_1998

Can someone please explain to me what these four – especially the one on the right with his finger in his mouth – are doing here?

Further up the slope the gods of the winds struck dramatic poses above a waterfall. This is the Peschiera dei Venti.  Pond of the Winds.

IMG_2006

Who knew ducks line up in a row all on their own?

IMG_2008 - Version 2

Somewhat removed from the exuberant Gods of the Winds is a demure female figure. La Fecondità del Mondo. World Fertility.

Beyond the Goddess of Fertility is one more pond. A wonderfully bucolic scene, but I didn’t dare linger. The clouds hadn’t darkened, but they neither had they got any lighter.

IMG_2010

Peschiera dei Pesci Rossi. There may be some goldfish in there, but there’s a lot more to see and I did not want to be trudging around in the rain.

As I walked around the garden, I was often mortified to find myself gawking.  Yes, staring openly and stupidly.  This was clearly not one of those gardens that lend themselves to an intuitive visit.  Which leads to the interminable debate as to whether the purpose of a garden is beauty or meaning.  For the Venetians, this was a non-issue.  For them, beauty and utility – or meaning – were not only mutually computable, but also desirable.

IMG_1974

Isola dei Conigli, (Island of the Rabbits) symbolizes immanenza, the human condition of being trapped between the confines of space and time.  Not a concept I would have associated with a neon green bunny.

IMG_1996

The meaning of the Monumento al Tempo was less opaque.  Time flies and yet we still carry the burden of the years.

Next along the avenue was a delightful little fountain with a strangely ominous name – Fontana delle Insidie. At first glance there seemed nothing even vaguely insidious about it, but even before I found out it was also called the Fontana degli Scherzi I was delighted to realize that at least here I knew exactly what was going on. In my visits to gardens around Italy – especially Tuscany and Lazio, I’d seen quite a few of these things. Sometimes they’re called Giochi d’Acqua, but they’re all the same thing – hidden spigots that shoot out jets of water on unsuspecting passersby.

IMG_1995

Upon seeing the benches, the weary traveller is tempted to rest a while before embarking on the final stage of his long journey to salvation. But – momento! Look carefully at the bench in the middle.

IMG_1980 - Version 2

By the time I got to the other side the water had stopped. In the past the spigots would have been activated manually. I figured they were on a timer.

IMG_1979

But as I walked by the statue on the right the jets started up again.

IMG_1981

I’m glad no-one was around to see how long it took before I noticed the ‘trigger’, or to watch I as amused myself walking back and forth in front of it.

IMG_1994

Between the Fountain of the Water Jokes and the Fontana dell’Estasi and salvation was the Fontana del Facchino, which as far as I know, means ‘porter’. I never found the path to the curiously named fountain. Nor did I discover what was behind (sorry) all the bare bottoms.

IMG_1991

Next to the stairs up to the villa an unexpected touch of whimsy. Over 100 litres of water per second flow through the fountains, 90% of which is recycled.

IMG_1986

In the centre of the Piazzale delle Rivelazioni, the Fountain of Ecstasy.  Journey’s end.

IMG_1990

On a more secular note, someone had spent a lot of time clipping the boxwood in the area to the right …

IMG_1989

…and to the left of the villa.

Long after my visit I was drawn to read, again, ‘What are Gardens For?’ by Rory Stuart.  It is a small book, nothing of the coffee table extravaganza about it, but over time it has become one of my favourite books on gardens.  Unlike many other garden writers, Stuart does not tell us this is beautiful, this is not; he does not cajole or berate us into his way of thinking; instead, as promised in the subtitle, ‘Visiting, Experiencing and Thinking about Gardens’,  he presents garden designs and styles and ideas about gardens and then raises questions for our consideration.  One of those questions, it seems to me, could well be asked with regard to a visit to Valsanzibio – ‘Does it matter that, as T.S. Eliot put it, ‘we had the experience but missed the meaning’?  (Chapter 6, Style and Meaning, p.99). I had arrived as the ignorant wanderer Barbarigo had in mind.  All I knew was that it was one of the great – although, like Giardini Giusti in Verona, not especially well-known – gardens of the Veneto.  As I’ve said before, my preferred approach to a garden visit is to do minimal research beforehand. Just enough so I don’t miss significant but less obvious elements. And so I know how to get there.  Like Valsanzibio, many historic gardens are no longer on the beaten path and can be surprisingly difficult to find.  However, looking back, I think this is one of those cases where the more we know in advance, the more enriched our visit will be.

IMG_1993

Time to head back to the entrance, past the beguiling Fontana delle Insidie.

I would have loved to visit the garden on a sunny day.  The dark greens of the boxwood against a clear, sapphire sky, dappled light, shadows, sparkling water, mini rainbows, would have really brought it to life.   But then again, without what I’ll euphemistically call the ‘distractions’ of other visitors such weather inevitably attracts, there was something – I’m hesitant to call it spiritual – about my solitary journey through the garden.

Next – Vicenza, City of Palladio (this time, for real!)

This entry was posted in Il Veneto, Northern Italy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Garden That Wants You to Think

  1. LMSantarossa says:

    I think we need more gnocchi d’aqua in all our gardens. Loved the bench!

Leave a Reply

