The Village That Tore Up Its Sidewalks

My visit with Elsie had got me in the mood for roses.  Before leaving home, I had spent a fair bit of time meandering around the internet, looking for interesting, but less famous gardens.  One day I stumbled across an intriguing entry.  No grand castle, no extensive grounds, no private ‘folie’.  It was a Village Jardin (Garden Village) called Chédigny, which in 2013 was the first village in France to be awarded the coveted designation, Jardin Remarkable.  And it is full of roses.

IMG_4806

I thought I was in the right place. But the only sign I could find was this half-hidden one for a couple of villages nearby.

In the late 1990’s, the mayor of Chédigny, who has a self-confessed grande passion pour les roses, decided that to further beautify the village – they had just finished ‘under-grounding’ all the networks – they could plant roses and train them up the façades of the houses.

IMG_4809

I had never come across this sign before. ‘Semi pedestrian street’. Could this be it?

The villagers loved it and two years later decided to aller plus loin (go further).  In the words of the mayor, the goal was to “redonner la rue aux habitants” (give the road back to the villagers).

IMG_4820

Whenever there is talk of giving back the streets to the people in big cities like Toronto, increasing sidewalk space always comes up.  But in Chédigny, instead of expanding the sidewalks, they tore them all up, leaving just the curbs.  Then they started planting.   Ancient roses.  Modern roses.  Climbing roses.  Repeat roses – roses remontantes.  In French they don’t just repeat, they ‘rise again’.  There were soon more roses than villagers.  (latest count – 700 to 150)

IMG_4811

Even a village that got rid of its sidewalks still needs somewhere to put the garbage bins.

The population soared 20% in just eight years.  (Do the math – there may now be a couple dozen more Chédignois.)  Word spread, and with the inauguration of the annual Festival des Roses in 2006, more and more visitors came to have a look at what was going on in the tiny village.

IMG_4816

Of course, “Où il y a des roses, il y a des épines,” admitted the mayor.  (Where there are roses, there are thorns.)  The new interest in the village has led to a doubling of real estate prices, making life in Chédigny beyond the reach of many young people.

IMG_4818

And with the rise in tourism comes the risk that Chédigny will become ‘un jardin musée’ (a garden museum) like those of the castles, in the words of a man who obviously does not mince his words.  Instead the goal is to create ‘un lieu de vie, de parfum’; un jardin vivant’  (a place of life, of fragrance; a living garden).  From what I saw early that morning in May, there was no need to worry.

IMG_4823

Presumably there is another entrance.

IMG_4587

IMG_4838

Chédigny’s gardening team – one Head Gardener (in the yellow jacket) and her assistants.

Another épine has to do with the ‘slight’, additional cost to maintain all the plants, the responsibility for which rests on the shoulders of one Head Gardener, and a couple of assistants.

IMG_4839

Chédigny’s gardeners try to do as much as possible à la main (by hand), with minimal use of pesticides.

When asked what it’s like to take care of a whole village, the young woman put it this way:  “Il faut avoir une petite connaissance botanique et une grande passion.”  (You need a bit of botanical knowledge and a lot of passion.)   As far as passion goes, it was clear that there was plenty of that.

IMG_4841

I think she was being far too modest as to her expertise on the botanical front.  Sometimes it was hard to see them for all the roses, but there were lots of other plants too.

IMG_4814

IMG_4831

Apart from the gardeners, the only other sign of life during my early morning visit was this villager chatting with the postman.

IMG_4849

Strolling along the quiet lanes, it was difficult to imagine the pandemonium tomorrow – opening day of the 9th annual edition of the Festival des Roses.  I wondered, if I had known about it, would I have changed my itinerary? The line-up for the two-day event looked wonderful.  Although visiting the booths of the rose growers and nursery owners would probably have been just an exercise in frustration (too many tempting things I of course could not take with me), there were all sorts of events and activities that would have been worth all the jostling with the crowds –  street musicians, photography and painting exhibits, an olfactory workshop seductively called ‘Parfum de roses, plaisir du nez’ (perfume of roses, pleasure of the nose).

IMG_4817

IMG_4830

Pink roses and blue shutters were my favourites.

IMG_4804

It was love at first sight with this rose.

During a segment for France 3 television (you can see it on Youtube – “Chédigny, village de roses”), one of the villagers explains that her involvement in gardening developed progressivement.   From a bit of puttering around, it has now reached the point where “ça me demande beaucoup d’ attention et presque… “(it requires a great deal of my attention and almost…).  She hesitated, struggling to find the right word – “Ce n’est pas de l’inquiétude…” (It’s not worry…)   Finally she hit upon an image that satisfied her:   Je suis aussi attentive à mes rosiers que je suis à mon petit chat.” (I pay as much attention to my roses as I do to my little cat.)  And you can bet that’s a lot of attention.

IMG_4822

IMG_4834

Chédigny, the village where roses have replaced sidewalks.

 

 

This entry was posted in France, Loire Valley and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Village That Tore Up Its Sidewalks

  1. Iris Hazen says:

    I adore your weekly posts, but for me a rosàrian, the ultimate experience …… this village of roses.
    Thank you for once again for sharing your delightful travels! Iris Hazen

    • donnafenice says:

      Iris, I’m delighted to hear you have been enjoying my posts. It’s wonderful to share my love of gardens with other enthusiasts like yourself. As I put the posts together, I often feel as if I am walking through the gardens again. I hope that as you read my posts, the gardens will come alive for you too.

Leave a Reply

